RSS Feed

Restart


After almost 15 years of research, college classes, a bunch of lectures & conferences, I decided to move away from Windows completely & move solely to Mac. Mostly because of a crash & burn in Windows on my Parallels platform, I now sit here researching Mac compatible genealogy software…& lesson learned on not backing things up…I get to also start from scratch reentering ALL my research by hand.

After much research I was certain I’d found my answer: Family Tree Maker by Ancestry. I am able to download my tree(s) from Ancestry into Family Tree Maker, as well as attached resources! So half the work is done for me!! Genius, right?

Well besides now learning a very non-straightforward system (thank goodness I bought the handbook), it also lacks MRIN options either automatically or self entry!!! How am I supposed to create my hard copies & keep them organized?

It turns out Family Tree Maker for Mac is based off their Windows 2010 version, where they took out MRIN’s… Of course! But the new Windows 2011 version has added the option back!!! So I guess I’m waiting on a new Mac version…? I’ve emailed them, … But no response. Here’s hoping a new update for Mac version soon :)

About ButterBeanz

I am just out one woman trying to praise God, raise a family, and help others. If I help anyone, if I reach anyone through Him, then I have fulfilled my purpose.

One response »

  1. “Is Family Tree Maker better than Legacy, which you had previously suggested to me? It sounds much more user-friendly.” – Frank

    It may sound user friendly, but indeed it is NOT! I am so GLAD I bought the manual with it… it isn’t as clear & straightforward as Legacy… which I LOVE Legacy, just not a Mac platform yet :( Still waiting…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

