RSS Feed

Webinars And Podcasts

Posted on

My time to do research is limited and trying to get to the new trend of webinars has been seemingly impossible!

When do I have time to camp out in front of my computer? An ever-growing technology junkie toddler prevents any quality time alone with Mac :D And when I do, it’s ate up with actual research time….

However, I feel like could use some of the webinars out there, especially some that pertain to Ancestry products & services. I would love to hear about any growing trends or research pointers.

So on a lark, I searched my iTunes Store App for “genealogy” and there’s a good selection of podcasts!

Podcasts! Duh! Brilliant! I can listen to them driving, late at night in bed, or even doing chores … Or better yet, while I’m researching!!! Multitasking :)

  • Ancestry.com of course has a whole podcast set up to provide just webinars! They currently have 41 episodes ranging from beginner’s how-to’s to using their products!
  • BBC 4 Tracing Your Roots – only 5 episodes but there is a lot of information already, including “Tracing Rootless Ancestors” talking about gypsies! LOVED IT!… just fun history tidbits!
  • National Archives with 184 episodes!
  • Family Tree Magazine – yes,… the same one sold on stands, but in discussion!

I am loading up & can’t wait for another walk around the block! YAY!

5 responses »

  1. Great idea! I don’t think I’ve ever downloaded podcasts before, but it would be a great way to multitask and listen to them while I’m waiting for Girl Scouts to finish. :)

    Reply
  2. Welcome to the Geneabloggers family. Hope you find the association fruitful; I sure do. I have found it most stimulating, especially some of the Daily Themes.

    May you keep sharing your ancestor stories!

    Dr. Bill ;-)
    http://drbilltellsancestorstories.blogspot.com/
    Author of “Back to the Homeplace”
    and “13 Ways to Tell Your Ancestor Stories”
    http://www.examiner.com/x-53135-Springfield-Genealogy-Examiner
    http://www.examiner.com/x-58285-Ozarks-Cultural-Heritage-Examiner

    Reply
  3. Don’t forget the new webinar series from SCGS – the Jamboree Extension Series. These are going to be held regularly, twice a month and they are FREE to any genealogist in the world who has internet access. http://www.scgsgenealogy.com/JamboreeExtensionSeries2011.htm

    Reply

Leave a Reply

