RSS Feed

52 Week of Personal Genealogy & History Challenge – Week #12


“Week 12: Movies. Did (or do you still) see many movies? Describe your favorites. Where did you see these films? Is the theater still there, or is there something else in its place?

This challenge runs from Saturday, March 19, 2011 through Friday, March 25, 2011.”


There is always going to be the first movie I ever saw in the theater. I was three! My mom took me to see “The Fox and The Hound”. She was so worried I wouldn’t sit still long enough to even enjoy it.

We went to our local tiny theater and what was once considered the mall… and unlike today, it used to have a lot of little stores in it. That was back in 1980-1981… She let me pick out my seat, which of course was the very first row right up close to the screen :) I was all kinds of fidgety before the feature started, but once it did… (you know back when they hadn’t wasted 30 minutes of your time with “previews”)… I sat through the whole movie! I was clued to the movie & the story line I completely understood. I am pretty sure this is partly where I got the concept of die-hard loyalty.

It is one of my fondest memories of my mom before the rest of our lives set in. It was one of those moments that when I need a good memory, I recall it & smile :) To this day, “The Fox and The Hound” is my favorite Disney movie no matter how many new cool ones they come out with. And I have already started sharing it with my little man!

 

About ButterBeanz

I am just out one woman trying to praise God, raise a family, and help others. If I help anyone, if I reach anyone through Him, then I have fulfilled my purpose.

2 responses »

  1. Awesome. I remember my grandma taking me and my cousins to see The Fox and The Hound. It was the first and only movie I remember seeing with her! What a great memory…thanks for helping me pull that one out of the vault!

    Reply
  2. The Fox in the Hound is the only movie I really remember seeing as a younger kid too. We were at the drive-in!

    :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

