RSS Feed

$5 Beer!


I have just a random thought to share…

Today a family member was sharing a winded story of being a young punk youth back in… well a long time ago where he could buy a whole case of beer for $5! WoW! Today it’s $5 a single draft beer!

It made me think of how much times have changed since I was a little one myself. When car seats were just these metal booster seat things that had A LOT of wiggle room… we all survived! Where a stroller looked like a shopping cart with a low seat it in… no one died in those! I can remember when our small town cable TV went to color! And I can recall when the idea of having my entire life at my fingertips (smart phones) was a “space age” concept :D

It also makes me think of how much my ancestors must have witnessed in their lives. Can you imagine what they would do if you told them to Skype you? Or what they would say to an overage apartment rent being $800-$1000 a month? And what if you told them you can return the same day you left (aircraft travel)? Imagine how “space age” that was to them…

When you stop to think about your ancestors & really put them into their time, you can get a slight idea of how much harder it was… or simpler in some cases. No dishwasher, no eating out… but then again, no traveling team sports before high school :D I really admire those who did the land rushes & got long & were successful! Can you imagine?

About ButterBeanz

I am just out one woman trying to praise God, raise a family, and help others. If I help anyone, if I reach anyone through Him, then I have fulfilled my purpose.

One response »

  1. It’s funny you mention this as my husband and I were just talking about the same concept. I got a packet of information on an ancestor that was born in 1813 and died almost 100 years later. Everything changed so much during his life. He started out with nothing but horses and carriages and by the time he died there were trains, cars and planes. I like to think about what would surprise my ancestors if they came back to life today. I think indoor showers would be a big hit.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

